Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What size are axles from the Mid-90's and back?
VintageBMX.com > VintageBMX Talk > Freestyle BMX
BillyDub
Trying to buy some pegs for my Morales and I am so confused with new school vs old school sizes?? I have an old school set-up I would think? Would 3/8" pegs work?

I feel like a total noob...just lost. ha

Thanks
BillyDub
Also..if I wanted to run a new set of forks on my bike would that be possible?
2FRESH
From 1994 til 1996 Morales came with 3/8" (10mm) drop outs. The 1997 and 1998 model had 14mm drop outs.
So yes, i would say you're fine with pegs with holes for 3/8" axle. And, you can always drill them to fit with bigger (14mm) axle.

I've seen people converting their headsets so that they can run new (modern) forks on their older frame. I don't have personal experience of that though, but it was one of the discussions here a short while ago.

Do you have any pictures of your Morales? Always curious to see one. Would also help ID what year it is.
oldschoolrider88
new forks on old bikes
http://www.global-flat.com/smf/index.php?topic=28925.0
BillyDub
Having trouble uploading pictures for some reason. It is a 96 I believe.
2FRESH
You can also upload photos at photobucket.com, then copy>paste the given "IMG" link on your post here.

I see you're looking for Kore flat forks. Good luck on your search, they are pretty hard to come by and in demand.
oldschoolrider88
still bummed about selling my Morales and Kore forks last year...frame was mint and the forks were NOS
oldschoolrider88
this was mine, and it was the most badass bike i have ever owned.
BillyDub
I will never sell my Morales. I just can not part with it.
BillyDub

There you go....
2FRESH
Here's my '95.

Ridden aswell.

Kore flat forks in 3 generations for comparison.
BillyDub
Love your bike 2fresh. I can not fit a bigger sprocket on mine. I forgot what size the one on the bike is.