Steve Bourke
Jan 18 2006, 06:23 PM
i sold a bike before in the states w/ no problems.
so i listed my mtb on pink bike and within a day got two bites from england. the first one was normal, how much, condition, pic's, blah blah. but the second one wanted alot of info "for my own shipper".
heres the message.
his name Samuel cameron
Hello,
I am interested in your [ Bike ] which you placed the advert at (www.pinkbike.com) I am located in London,will like to know more about it's present condition.You can forward it's picture to my mail box,you know i do need to see what am interested in buying.Also want you to tell me the actual price you want to sell it.
I will be glad to pay you by Certified Check issued from US Bank and will surely clear your bank immedeately without any delay. Do not worry about the shipment,i will arrange for the shipment with a shipping company i already know and they will takecare of the shipment fine.Most important,i need your full name and address in which the check for the payment will be made out and sent to,
Below are the details needed for payment:
Your Full Name: That will be on the
check for the payment
Residential Address:
City:
State:
Zipcode:
Country:
Phone Number: ( Cell,home and office phone #)
Those information are needed so that the payment can be made out and as well sent by one of the quickest courier services. so i want you to mail me back with the details requested above so that this transaction can be concluded as soon as possible. I shall look forward to read from you Quick Respond.
My Home address and phone are below....
19-20 Furnival Street,
London EC4A 1AB
United Kingdom.
+447031901961
Thank You.
does this sound strange or is it just me?
Kastanman
Jan 18 2006, 06:40 PM
You have to have all that info on a USPS MO (except the phone number). If its not on your copy, and it is lost or stolen the PO will not issue a refund.
I've had one guy make his own arangements for shipping once but he was in the states.
I'd say as long as he agrees to let the check clear the bank before you ship, and is going to cover the shipping cost, I'd do it.
steef
Jan 18 2006, 06:58 PM
quote:
does this sound strange or is it just me?
It's oddly familiar. I got the exact same letter (with a different address) on a bike I listed on craigslist. I was wary of a scam so I declined interest in the offer. Now that I see the exact same letter, I'm glad I did.
Steer clear of it.
wagonguy
Jan 18 2006, 07:05 PM
Scam. I get them all the time. It is the fake cashiers check scam. just delete.
Doug
wagonguy
Jan 18 2006, 07:07 PM
Also, the check WILL clear the bank. Then, weeks later they will discover it is fake and YOU will be liable for the money.
Doug
kdw 712
Jan 18 2006, 07:09 PM
instincts were right did a google on it to see
if the street was real (it is) and got this
http://www.google.co.uk/search?num=50&hl=e...+below%22&meta=plus the grammar and spelling are pretty poor
[ January 18, 2006, 08:12 PM: Message edited by: kdw 712 ]
steef
Jan 18 2006, 08:50 PM
I just wonder how they find the "local couriers" to pick up bikes. It seems they might not even bother to pick up the bikes and it wouuld just be a bank hassle.
wagonguy
Jan 18 2006, 09:31 PM
No, they have you forward money from their check to their "shipper", then they pocket the money. They have no intention of ever taking posession of the bike (usually). The trick is to get you to cash their phony check and send them cash. Then the check comes back bad and you owe the bank all the money.
Doug
Steve Bourke
Jan 18 2006, 09:36 PM
thank you guys.
in that link is the exact email i recieved.
SE Mark
Jan 18 2006, 09:50 PM
It's the Nigerian fruad scam. They will send you a Cashier's check for 3 times the amout then tell you to cash immediately and send the rest of the money to their shippier in Nigeria. The cashier check is fake but it's got the #'s of a real account so if you check it appear's real. As soon as you cash it they have all your bank info and draw up check's on your account also. Then if you send them any money they have that also. They never send a shippier or contact you again after you Western Union the money.
Jimmy_in_NC
Jan 18 2006, 11:01 PM
besides being fraud, would you want to think about your beloved bike in the possession of someone who can't spell and uses grammar like that? it's the same kind of person that leaves a bike in the rain.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.