Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
MikeCarruth
post Apr 25 2020, 10:08 PM
Post #2

VBMX Hall Of Famer

Group: Root Admin
Member No.: 6,767

We will race again, I am certain of it. It may not be til July, but it will happen.

Of course, it depends on the state/county/local regulations.

I have no insider knowledge, but I do have my own ideas on how it might go down.

There is no doubt that it's going to be a bit more expensive, and require a higher degree of understanding on the part of all involved. Hopefully, the "we're all in this together" factor can help us through it.

How to catch-up the schedule:

* Run East/West, North/South double weekends. That will be good to both get all the calendar races in, and also reduce the rider count at those races (which now becomes a good thing).

As far as the at-the-track set up:

* If testing is readily-available, it would be best to test everyone on the crew before each race (USA BMX staff, officials and medics).

* Face coverings for all (question as to whether riders on the track could/should wear them?)

* Only the essential spectators (rider, plus one. Maybe two for later races).

* Everyone becomes a "Rental Car Pro." Everyone pits in their car, spaced appropriately.

* Parents can watch from the fenceline, with distancing between them and the fence, behind and horizontally , but then must go back to their car with the kid.

* Kids must stay with the parent at all times, it's too easy to break distancing if not.

* Need to reconfigure staging. Space it out to observe distancing. Will depend on the track's unique set-up how it gets set up. No staging chutes.

* No concessions at the track. Encourage families to shop locally and prepare track food in the room, or work with a local deli or two to prepare "track lunches" that families can order, and are delivered to the room early on the morning of the practice/race.